Intelligence turns me on…I must be sapiosexual!

Gracefully, the sleek ride, a jet black 2011 Porsche Cayenne, pulled neatly into an empty parking bay….he stepped out. Towering 6.4 feet tall with frame that could have given Hercules an Usain Bolt run for his money….he drew nigh. I watched him through my dark sunglasses as he made his way to the terrace lounge bar. Quickly I said my classic prayer, “oh let his brain surpass his frame!”  He found me in no time and we exchanged warm pleasantries. “Damn, he smells good”, I thought.

We ordered our preferences and quickly settled into some form of casual conversation. Not so long after, the dreaded nightmare began. With every utterance he made, my heart sank, the fire quelled. In no time I realised he’s also been afflicted with what I call the FBNS (Fine Boy No Substance) syndrome. Trying hard not to give up so soon like with previous dates, I said to myself, “Girl, change the topic. Maybe that would bring out the kind of intelligence you are desperately hoping to experience “. I was wrong!

I find it disrespectful when people on a date wouldn’t stop checking their phones or pinging! Funny but that was exactly what I felt like doing. I resisted the urge and could only pray I’d be saved by the bell. Before I could finish the prayers, my phone rang, yay! A quick glance at my phone screen revealed the name of a stalker. Right! Should I let this ring out or use it as my bail ticket? I settled for the latter and excused myself from his presence. On returning to the table, I was ready to deliver my classic “I gotta go” speech.  *Evil grin*. Date ended abruptly…sweet relief!

Seriously, what is the matter with me? I just blew yet another dude away. I mean… he’s got the looks, the swag, the deep baritone voice that would send sweet shivers down a woman’s spine, he’s even got the benjamins. Sadly, none of these could make me look beyond his shallow mind. Without mincing words, my tolerance level for daftness is at a record low. How could a man so fine  be eluded of an incisive mind? Moreso, why can’t I overlook this deficiency and for the sake of companionship – settle? Ain’t no spring chicken and it’s been eons since my last relationship. Having grown a tough skin for the incessant complaints from the committee of friends and family, settling, rather, compromising is no option.

Then, there it was, a word I never knew existed yet perfectly described my insatiable condition. I learnt it was invented by Wolfieboy of LiveJournal (Darren Stalder) in 1998. It is a concatenated word of latin origin. Sapio, a latin root word from sapiens which means wise or intelligent and sexualis, as it pertains to sexual preferences.

Sapiosexual – Turned on by intelligence.

Alas! It was relieving to know I’m perfectly normal. Comforted  in the knowledge that there are many a people like me out there. 🙂

I am sapiosexual, an unapologetic one at that!

Are you?

17 thoughts on “Intelligence turns me on…I must be sapiosexual!

  1. Mo says:

    Wow…we learn everyday. I have never heard this word before but I am adding it asap to my vocabulary. A nicely delivered piece….catchy!

    thumbs up!

  2. I am MOS DEF sapiosexual. Knowledgable and exposed women are more interesting than a bodacious babe with nothing of substance to say. I love conversation so if a girl has nothing but gossip and Kim Kardashian’s latest relationship coming from her mouth. That’s a no go area for me.

    And I have no apologies about that.

  3. Busayo says:

    I can soooo relate with you. For me, i don’t mind having such men as friends because I understand we aren’t gifted equally, but I don’t know why I can’t carry that understanding to the level of relationships. I don’t want a guy that carry on a conversation intelligibly or a guy that would just be ‘getting’ a joke after I’ve laughed my heart out.
    I wish I could do something about it though, or rather God will bring me a fellow. ‘Sapiosexual’ L☺ooO☺:)=D:D=))=))Ooo☺L!!.

  4. Lynn says:

    Over-sapiosexuality dey worry me sef. I like the FBNS….Some dudes these days think they can swoop you off your feet with benjamins but nada bruva…you need the brains to make me tick. Aint giving up all of these for a non-sapiosexual (lolll) Its really cool when like minds mingle, imagine Tara and Fela Durotoye, perfect example of sapiosexuals. I like your blog….i think i’m going to be a regular visitor.

    Check out “21st Century Girl…Aim for The Top” on http://lynnville.blogspot.com/2012/03/21st-century-girlaim-for-top.html

  5. hahaha….
    u got me wondering what a sapiosexual is..heheheh..wel, anyways..it makes sense
    i bet uve had that feeling of dread like you wrote above when the fyn boi cant even relate with you on ordinary terms..c’mon!!…even if it’s Disney or Dreamworks,…books or good movies,,,say something sensible…or talk poetry…bt nada..its just party or some silly stuff and ure “hello?!!is anybody home..LOOL…
    stumbled upon your blog on MCLA’s blog and tot i shd check u out..and im gonna add u to my blog lists..
    check me out on http://sugarspring-mindshade.blogspot.com/…and tell me wat ya think
    twas nice of u educating us…
    ummm…SAPIOSEXUAL..cant stop wondering

  6. Lol.ave nt been usin d WordPress site fr a while naw and so u can check me on blogger.thats where it’s happening.lol.and so I pasted d site;-sugarspring-mindshade.blogspot.com to mk it easier to find me.thats whr u’ll see ur blog post on my blog as one of those am following.thanks..God bless

  7. Hehehe….Sapiosexual…hmmn…figures…Truly, some peeps are so drop dead gorgeous physically and intellectually…well, I won’t really call my self a Sapiosexual..am a Nigerian man na ! We like it “curvy” ! Lol ! Thanks 4 d nu’ word…Sapiosexual…has this sensual feel…maybe its just me sha.

Leave your feedback below...thanks!

