Day Three: The Three Most Important Songs in My Life

Oh my days! I didn’t see that coming at all. I find today’s assignment asking me to write about the three most important songs in my life a lot more difficult than you can imagine. I love music like crazy. I realized from a very early stage in my life that I find stability in listening to certain songs and I draw a lot of strength from them. I love songs not just because of the melody they carry but most especially because of their lyrics. I am eclectic by nature so I’m just going to choose three out of the many important songs in my life and write about them as they readily come to mind.

  “In the End” by Eric Benet 

I heard this song for the first time about four years ago and I got hooked on it just because of one line in the lyrics. “And in the end, you won’t break cause you are learning how to bend”. This song never fails to reassure me that everything would be alright in the end no matter how hard, difficult, frustrating or hopeless things may be or look now. The song realistically relates to the everyday struggle we go through as humans in our own little corners. It is not cheesy or patronizing, it’s just a real and honest song in my opinion.

I Won’t Give Up  by Jason Mraz

I especially love this second song because it embodies everything I believe about  love and loving someone intimately. It opens the eyes to see that love transcends mushy feelings – it is a decision, a stand I have always maintained. For me, this song asserts the real challenges any love relationship would face in its life time, the rough roads, the speed bumps and all. It reminds me that true love will exert a certain degree of pressure on you  and yours but that decision to pull through it together, helping each other along the way is all that is needed to preserve and protect the precious seed of love growing in both hearts. No jumping ship just because there is a storm.

Something Inside So Strong – Labi Siffre

It took me a while to make this last choice but here it is. This is a feel good song for me because every time I hear it I am reminded of the fact that no one can hold me back or down but myself. No matter what people say to me or do to me, it is not strong enough to stop me in my tracks except I allow it. I have been hurt a few times in my life and at those times I clearly see the intent was to crush and break me. However listening to this song, I am reminded of the resilient spirit I carry on my inside that cannot be silenced by any force of subjugation, wickedness or cruelty.

-NW

Writing 101: Day Three: Commit to a Writing Practice

Write about the three most important songs in your life — what do they mean to you?

Nailing Brahms’ Hungarian Dance Number 5 on your alto sax. Making perfect pulled pork tacos. Drawing what you see. Or, writing a novel. Each requires that you make practice a habit.

Today, try free writing. To begin, empty your mind onto the page. Don’t censor yourself; don’t think. Just let go. Let the emotions or memories connected to your three songs carry you.

Today’s twist: You’ll commit to a writing practice. The frequency and the amount of time you choose to spend today — and moving forward — are up to you, but we recommend a minimum of fifteen uninterrupted minutes per day.

 

11 thoughts on “Day Three: The Three Most Important Songs in My Life

  1. Love it. How much of a romantic are you anyway? 🙂 Love the descriptions. 101 is pulling it out of us, that’s for certain but I think it’s for the best. I can’t wait to see the rest of your site. Your first choice and that line reminded me of a song I love by David Crowder called How He Loves, the line goes “Bending beneath the weight of His wind and mercy.” Nice how one song can bring out another.
    Much Respect
    Ronovan

  2. “It is not cheesy or patronizing, it’s just a real and honest song in my opinion”

    I loved this line in your description. I also enjoyed your use of some of the lyrics in your first song selection. I think you could have included more of these examples as it gives a reader the chance to see what portions and phrases of the song really spoke to you.

  3. i liked that you made an effort to add creativity to your post. you didn’t just write based on the theme for the day. i didn’t do that. i just wrote which is still good because i did it, but taking the time to make it your own and add yourself into it shows you care even if the topic wasn’t your idea. i like it. good job!

  4. Just listened to Jason Mraz! …We had to learn how to bend without the world caving in
    I had to learn what I’ve got, and what I’m not, and who I am… Thanks for putting it up Yems! Just kinda reassured me…

  5. Wonderfully written and well chosen tracks. I love how it was so personal for you. I’ve identified with them all at different times in my life. At the moment especially, ‘I won’t give up’. You know love is real, when through the trials and the tragedies, you not only stick together, but put love first. Of course we’d all prefer the trials and tragedies never existed…Thank you for your glorious contribution.

Leave your feedback below...thanks!

