Day Nine: A Triple Point of View

He placed his band bearing left hand over her back, holding her tightly by the waist knowing this might be for the last time. He looked down at her as she rested her head gently on his shoulder while seated on the wooden bench surrounded by summery blooms in the park. He could feel the painful knots in his belly as he contemplated his decision to stop seeing her.

 “I wish I could end this sooner than later because It would be a shame to get caught pants down with her. I don’t stand a chance, not with her boxer husband, not with this spaghetti structure of a body I occupy! It’s been three months since I first met her over the counter at the local pharmacy where I work. Those eyes drew me in and now I am on lock-down. I think she now wants more but I want out though this stolen water is indeed sweet!

He thought himself.

She snuggled closer than ever wishing the moment could last forever. She shuddered at the thought of going back to her abusive partner to whom she’s bound by the endless shackle of golden metal on her left ring finger.

“I wish I’d met him a little earlier, I wouldn’t have made a vow to stay forever. Just look at the way he’s holding on tight…oh he must love me so dearly even though he’s never said it. How can he not be in love with me. I mean, we meet everyday, same time, same place. He is so into me and I know he’ll soon rescue me. If he doesn’t say it today, I’m going to do it. I think it’s time I tell him I love him. Maybe that will help him say it too.”

She thought herself.

She walked the same path down the south side of the park everyday because it attracted less traffic. Today was not an exception. For her, seeing the ever cuddling couple was the major highlight of her midday walk.

“They are so in love and happily married. I need to bring that notorious skirt-chasing son of mine along with me tomorrow. He needs to see that true love still does exist. It didn’t die when my Freddie passed 8 years ago. Oh bless these two Lord, let them have a blissful union just like Freddie & I had.”

She thought and prayed. Cooing to herself at the perceived puppy love, she carried on happily.

-NW

Copyright © 2014 NUBIANWATERS. All Rights Reserved

 

Writing 101: Day Nine: Changing Moccasins – Point of View

“For today’s assignment, write a scene at the park. Up for a twist? Write the scene from three different points of view.”

5 thoughts on “Day Nine: A Triple Point of View

  1. I love the complex backgrounds of the characters–and how the old woman is completely misreading the situation! Very creative. My feedback would be that it might be nice to have a little more physical description of stuff, but I do see why you chose to stick more with internal thoughts. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

Leave your feedback below...thanks!

