Day Ten: Happy Diner!

Okay! With today’s challenge, I think I am just going to ramble to be honest. I really don’t remember having a favourite meal as a child. If anything at all, what comes to mind are meals I did not like. I was never excited about meal time growing up because it felt like a chore to me. Of course, that explains why a lot of my childhood pictures had me looking like a big head on a stick.

At times, my Nan of blessed memory would have to literally sit next to me with a cane in her hand just to harass me into eating up my portions Thinking about her now, I might have a favourite meal which I can traced back to my childhood thanks to her. She loved to farm and moving to an urban area to live with my family did not deterred from doing that. She found a plot of land near our home and cultivated it with passion.

I remember going there with her some days after school just for the fun of it. It was on one of those chance visits I learned about how  yam was planted and harvested. The experience was quite intriguing for me. I was super chuffed eating of the yam she harvested from her farm and I loved it. That was the only meal she didn’t have to cajole me into eating.

Funny enough, it’s still my favourite meal to date. I’d eat yam at any time of the day with anything – omelette, sardine sauce, pepper sauce, egg stew or just simply dip it in plain oil & salt. For me, the best drink that goes well with this meal is a glass of chilled water and I’m just fine!

-NW

Copyright © 2014 NUBIANWATERS. All Rights Reserved

Writing 101: Day Ten: Happy (Insert a Special Occasion Here)!

“Tell us about your favorite childhood meal — the one that was always a treat, that meant “celebration,” or that comforted you and has deep roots in your memory.

Free free to focus on any aspect of the meal, from the food you ate to the people who were there to the event it marked.

Today’s twist: Tell the story in your own distinct voice.”

3 thoughts on “Day Ten: Happy Diner!

  1. Nicely entertaining – breezy. Nothing’s better than fresh from the garden food.
    This made me laugh – so many can identify: “what comes to mind are meals I did not like. I was never excited about meal time growing up because it felt like a chore to me. Of course, that explains why a lot of my childhood pictures had me looking like a big head on a stick.”

Leave your feedback below...thanks!

