Day Fifteen: It Got Cancelled!

In life, I try as much as personally possible to take things & occurrences with a pinch of a salt. I try not to get overly attached to people or things though while present I make the effort to give my best. I remember a few years back, for several weeks we had rehearsed for the up coming annual Christmas concert which would be featuring the All Souls Orchestra  in London.

The week of the concert was really bad weather-wise. It kept snowing and that was not comforting. With that, the prospect of an event cancellation hovered over us as we rehearsed every day of that week leading to the D-day. We hoped and prayed it would be a fair weather so the hall could be filled and we wont have to perform before bare leather.

The morning of the event I made a quick dash to the high street just to get one more thing to add to my outfit. As I got off the bus to start my walk home, it started snowing like it was going out of fashion. Within minutes all I could see was a blanket of snow yet still I was hoping against hope. No sooner than I got in the dreaded text came in. It’s been cancelled it read. I was so gutted!

I was really looking forward to the event. The one we had the year before was really nice. I was really looking forward to singing with the orchestra again but the snow hijacked the show of the day.

Christmas concert

Hill City Mass Choir & the Children’s Choir in concert with All Souls Orchestra the year before.

-NW

Copyright ©2014 NUBIANWATERS. All Rights Reserved

 

Writing 101: Day Fifteen: Your Voice Will Find You

“You’re told that an event that’s dear to your heart — an annual fair, festival, or conference — will be cancelled forever (or taken over by an evil organization). Write about it. For your twist, read your piece aloud, multiple times. Hone that voice of yours!

4 thoughts on “Day Fifteen: It Got Cancelled!

  1. thekellygeorge says:

    Darned snow! Here’s hoping Christmas 2014 will be better. 🙂 (All Souls – like the Oxford College?)

  2. Hi just wanted you to know Ive nominated you to the Ther Very Inspiring Blogger Award.Im sure you get this a lot..your works awesome! looking forward to your comments on my blog..In the meanwhile take care..thank you for being an inspiration..Cheers, Nishi

Leave your feedback below...thanks!

