Day Nineteen: Don’t Stop the Rockin’

About four weeks ago I started this month-long writing challenge. Though I was encouraged to take it on by my good friend and fellow blogger, honestly, I decided to take it on not to prove any point to anyone but myself. There is this popular saying, “winners don’t quit; quitters don’t win”. I can relate to it totally because I have been there and done that! Take this blog that I write on for instance, if you look through its archives, you’d notice seasons of no writing and dry spells. Procrastination got  the better part of me at those times.

So, today I must commend myself for making it this far. I was a bit worried at the beginning of the challenge. I feared I’d get distracted and fall off the wagon but surprisingly I did not…! Yay! Putting it out there, there were days I really didn’t feel like writing but sheer determination got me through such days. The best part, I have also met genuinely nice, warm and lovely people in the blogging community though separated by a million miles in every direction possible. The encouragement from these lots is simply exceptional.

Though my day today was pretty much packed and on getting home, I felt kind of exhausted from all the emotional roller coaster the movie (The Fault in Our Stars) I saw gave me, I was still looking forward to going online to face the challenge for today. One thing I am definitely taking from this experience is, never to let anything get in the way of doing something better with myself and my time. If I entertain excuses then I have already cast the die for failure.

Many a times in life we dream about achieving a goal, we fantasize about accomplishing a feat which naturally creates a considerable level of excitement in us. However, no sooner than we’ve done this, we begin to set limits and boundaries upon ourselves. We beginning to conceive in our minds reasons why we can’t see it through. We allow self-doubt, self-intimidation and self-demoralization to kick in. Unfortunately the combination of these trio creates the wild-fire effect, which speedily razes down precious hopes & dreams.

Henceforth, I will wake up every morning smelling my own brewed coffee…

“Nobody can hold me down without my consent. No force can suppress me better than I can suppress myself. There are no limits on me so I will no longer live my life on the flat-line!” -Nubianwaters

-NW

Copyright ©2014 NUBIANWATERS. All Rights Reserved.

 

Writing 101: Day Nineteen: Don’t Stop the Rockin’

“Today is a free writing day. Write at least four-hundred words, and once you start typing, don’t stop. No self-editing, no trash-talking, and no second guessing: just go. Bonus points if you tackle an idea you’ve been playing with but think is too silly to post about.”

6 thoughts on “Day Nineteen: Don’t Stop the Rockin’

  1. Very good! I like the quote. After long time today I posted again in the course, I was doing the assignment but not post them, today I got brave and did it.

Leave your feedback below...thanks!

